hoststar Support

We are happy to help you!

Our technical support is available to you from Monday to Saturday from 9 a.m. to 12 midday and 1.30 p.m. to 5 p.m. You can of course send us your questions by email. Emailed support questions are also viewed at the weekend and answered promptly according to the degree of urgency.


Spam filter – setting up


Spam settings in the Control Panel

 
Spamfilter 1

1. Login to your Control Panel.

You can find the link for this in the email with your login details (http://login-X.hoststar.ch) (the X should be replaced by your server number).

Login:  Enter the web number "webX" (the X should be replaced by your personal web number) or your domain "yourdomain.ch".
Password: Enter your FTP password.
 
 
Spamfilter 2

2. In the navigation panel on the left, click "E-mail" and select "Spam filter" from the dropdown menu.

 
 
Spamfilter 3

3. For the mailbox whose settings you want to edit, click on the right on the notepad icon under the "Change" heading.

 
 
Spamfilter 4

4. In the following window you will now see all the possible settings that you can additionally modify in the spam filter.

Under "General Settings" you can alter the following options:

Required Score:
Specifies how strictly the spam filter should evaluate the emails. A low value filters more mails out but at the same time there is more chance of wrongly identifying a wanted email as spam. We recommend that this value should not be set lower than "4".

Rewrite Email Subject:
The character sequence defined in the entry field will be added in front of the subject of an email identified as spam. If, for instance, you are sent a spam mail with the subject "Diploma for sale", after successful identification as spam, the mail will be placed in your spam folder with the subject "****SPAM**** "Diploma for sale".

Report in the header:
If this option is activated, the complete report of the spam check will be inserted into the mail header so that you see the reasons for which the mail concerned was identified as spam.

Under "Add new address" you can manage both the Blacklist and Whitelist There are more details about these two features below.

 
top

Spam settings in Webmail

Go to your Webmail access.

 
Spamfilter 5

1. Click on the item "Spam" either in the menu at the top right or in the "Webmail" menu on the left.

 
 
Spamfilter 6

2. If you have not yet made any changes to the spam filter via Webmail Organizer, you will find the following settings.

As long as nothing is changed here, the settings defined in the Control Panel (or the default settings) continue to be effective.
The following settings can be modified here:

Required Score:
Specifies how strictly the spam filter should evaluate emails. A low value filters more mails out but at the same time there is more chance of falsely identifying a wanted email as spam. We recommend that this value should not be set lower than "5: Aggressive".

Rewrite Email Subject:
The character sequence defined in the entry field will be added in front of the subject of an email identified as spam. If, for instance, you are sent a spam mail with the subject "Diploma for sale" and have previously entered the character sequence "****SPAM****" in the "Rewrite Email Subject" field, after successful identification as spam, the mail will be placed in your spam folder with the subject "****SPAM**** Diploma for sale".

Alter messages marked as spam:
Here you can determine whether only the report from SpamAssassin should be inserted in the mail header or if the message itself should be altered. With these last two options the mail is altered so that it is stated in the message itself that it has been identified as spam by the spam filter. The original message, without alteration by the spam filter, will be additionally attached to the message.

Skip RBL Tests:
With activation of this option, incoming emails will no longer be compared with public anti-spam databases on the Internet. We only recommend deactivation if mails that you actually want from certain senders are regularly blocked (this occurs sometimes, for instance, with hotmail.com or yahoo.com addresses, as these are often picked up by anti-spam databases.

 
top

Whitelist (always accept certain senders)

If emails from people you know or certain newsletters are sometimes wrongly identified as spam, you can add the addresses of the senders of these to your Whitelist. Addresses in the Whitelist are automatically identified as "good", i.e. mails from these senders are never again placed into the spam folder.

You can add single addresses or all addresses in a specific domain to the Whitelist. To add single addresses, simply enter these onto the list in the form "sender@domain.extension". To add whole domains, enter these onto the list in the form "*@domain.extension".

To add entries to the Whitelist, proceed as follows:

In Control Panel

 
Spamfilter 7

Open the settings of the mailbox that you want to edit, as described in "Spam settings in the Control Panel"

Under "Add new address" enter the sender’s address of the person from whom you generally always want to receive all emails. Then check the "Accept" box and click "Add":

In the example, the address "hanna@yourdomain.ch" would now be added to your Whitelist. The green symbol at the beginning of the line indicates that the address is part of the Whitelist. A red symbol, however, indicates that the address is on your Blacklist.

 

In Webmail

 
Spamfilter 8

Open the spam settings as described above in "Spam settings in the Control Panel".

Then click on the button "Whitelist".

Here you can now enter all senders who should be added to your Whitelist. You can make entries in the Whitelist for both incoming mails and outgoing mails. Normally, entry for incoming mails is perfectly adequate (in the positive senders list). The individual entries should be separated with a normal line break.

 
top

Blacklist (always refuse certain senders)

If you constantly receive spam or other undesirable emails from a specific sender or a specific domain, you can add the sender concerned to your Blacklist. Mails from this source will then always be immediately identified as spam and placed in the spam folder, even if the mail has otherwise passed the spam check.

To add entries to the Blacklist, proceed as follows:

In Control Panel

 
Spamfilter 9

Open the settings of the mailbox that you want to edit, as described in "Spam settings in the Control Panel".

Under "Add new address" enter the sender’s address from which you do not want to receive any more emails. Make sure the "Accept" box is checked and click "Add":

In this example, 2 entries are added to the Blacklist. For the domain "spamserver.com" all email addresses that end with this domain name are blocked. The red symbol at the beginning of the line indicates that the entry is in the Blacklist. A green symbol, however, indicates that the address is in the Whitelist.

 

In Webmail

 
Spamfilter 10

Open the spam settings as described above in "Spam settings in Webmail".

Then click on the button Blacklist".

Here you can enter all senders who should be added to your Blacklist. You can make entries in the Blacklist for both incoming and outgoing emails. Normally, entry for incoming mails is perfectly adequate (in the excluded senders list). The individual entries should be separated with a normal line break.

 
top

Advanced settings

For experienced users there is also the possibility of defining user-configured rules for SpamAssassin. For the layman, the syntax of the SpamAssassin rules is very difficult to understand, so we recommend that you only undertake your own settings if you really know what you are doing.

To define your own rules, please proceed as follows:

The initial steps here are explained under the heading " Spam settings in the Control Panel".

 

1. Login to your Control Panel and open your spam settings.

The initial steps here are explained under the heading " Spam settings in the Control Panel".
 
 
Spamfilter 11

2. Under "Add New Address", click "For advanced users".



 
 
Spamfilter 12

3. In the window that then appears you see all previously activated spam rules. You can add some user-configured rules using the same syntax:

Please note that insertion of a faulty filter rule could partially or even entirely put the spam filter out of action.

You can find a detailed guide to the SpamAssassin syntax here.

 
top


We will be happy to answer further questions:

Administrative Questions:
Email: order@hoststar.ch

Technical Questions:
Email: support@hoststar.ch
 
Copyright © 2012 hoststar. All rights reserved.   Disclaimer | Privacy Policy| Sitemap
Hosting & Webspace Internet Service Provider.

hoststar Support

Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!

Unser technischer Support steht Ihnen von Montag bis Samstag von 09:00 - 12:00 Uhr und von 13:30 - 17:00 Uhr zur Seite. Sie können uns Ihre Fragen selbstverständlich auch per Email zukommen lassen. Email-Supportanfragen werden auch am Wochenende gesichtet und nach Dringlichkeitsgrad umgehend beantwortet.


Spamfilter - Einrichtung


Spameinstellungen im Control Panel

 
Spamfilter 1

1. Melden Sie sich in Ihrem Hosting Control Panel an.

Den Link dazu finden Sie im Mail mit Ihren Zugangsdaten (http://login-X.hoststar.ch) (das X ist mit Ihrer Servernummer zu ersetzen).

Login:  Geben Sie hier Ihre Webnummer "webX" (das X ist durch die persönliche Webnummer zu ersetzen) oder Ihre Domain "IhreDomain.ch" ein.
Passwort: Geben Sie hier Ihr FTP-Passwort ein.
 
 
Spamfilter 2

2. Klicken Sie in der Navigation links, im Menu "E-Mail", auf den Unterpunkt "Spam Filter".

 
 
Spamfilter 3

3. Bei dem Postfach, dessen Einstellungen Sie bearbeiten möchten, klicken Sie auf der rechten Seite auf das Symbol mit dem Notizblock, unterhalb der Beschriftung "Ändern".

 
 
Spamfilter 4

4. Im folgenden Fenster sehen Sie nun alle möglichen Einstellungen die Sie am Spamfilter noch zusätzlich vornehmen können.

Unter "Allgemeine Einstellungen" können Sie folgende Optionen verändern:

Benötigte Treffer:
Gibt an, wie streng der Spamfilter die Emails bewerten soll. Ein niedrigerer Wert filtert mehr Mails heraus, aber gleichzeitig wird auch die Change erhöht, dass ein erwünschtes Mail fälschlicherweise als Spam identifiziert wird. Wir empfehlen diesen Wert nicht tiefer als "4" einzustellen.

Betreff umschreiben:
Die im Eingabefeld definierte Zeichenfolge wird bei einem identifizierten Spammail vor dem Betreff angehängt. Wenn Sie also z.B. ein Spammail mit dem Betreff "Diploma for sale" erhalten, wird das Mail bei erfolgreicher identifizierung anschliessend mit dem Betreff "****SPAM**** Diploma for sale" in Ihren Spamordner verschoben.

Bericht im Header:
Wenn diese Option aktiviert ist, wird im Mailheader jeweils der komplette Bericht der Spamüberprüfung eingefügt, sodass Sie sehen aus welchen Gründen die betreffende Mail als Spam identifiziert wurde.

Unter "Neue Adresse hinzufügen" können Sie die Blacklist sowie auch die Whitelist verwalten. Auf diese beiden Features wird weiter unten noch genauer eingegangen.

 
top

Spameinstellungen im Webmail

Melden Sie sich bei Ihrem Webmail-Zugang an.

 
Spamfilter 5

1. Klicken Sie entweder im Menu rechts oben oder beim Menu "Webmail" links auf den Punkt "Spam".

 
 
Spamfilter 6

2. Falls Sie über den Webmail-Organizer noch keine Änderungen am Spamfilter vorgenommen haben, werden Sie folgende Einstellungen vorfinden.

Solange hier nichts geändert wird, gelten nach wie vor die Einstellungen, die im Control Panel definiert wurden (bzw. die Standardeinstellungen). Folgende Einstellungen können hier getätigt werden:

Required Score:
Gibt an, wie streng der Spamfilter die Emails bewerten soll. Ein niedrigerer Wert filtert mehr Mails heraus, aber gleichzeitig wird auch die Change erhöht, dass ein erwünschtes Mail fälschlicherweise als Spam identifiziert wird. Hier empfehlen wir die Einstellung nicht tiefer als "5: Aggressive" zu setzen.

Rewrite Email Subject:
Die im Eingabefeld definierte Zeichenfolge wird, bei einem identifizierten Spammail, vor dem Betreff angehängt. Wenn Sie also z.B. ein Spammail mit dem Betreff "Diploma for sale" erhalten und in dem Feld "Rewrite Email Subject" die Zeichenfolge "****SPAM****" angegeben haben, wird das Mail bei erfolgreicher Identifizierung anschliessend mit dem Betreff "****SPAM**** Diploma for sale" in Ihren Spamordner verschoben.

Als Spam markierte Nachrichten verändern:
Hier können Sie bestimmen, ob nur der Bericht von Spamassassin im Header des Mails eingefügt werden soll oder ob die Nachricht an sich noch abgeändert werden soll. Bei den beiden letzteren Optionen wird die Mail abgeändert, sodass in der Nachricht steht, dass diese vom Spamfilter als Spam erkannt wurde. Die ursprüngliche Nachricht, ohne Veränderung vom Spamfilter, wird zusätzlich noch an die Nachricht angehängt.

RBL-Tests überspringen:
Bei Aktivierung dieser Option werden eingehende Mails nicht mehr mit öffentlichen Anti-Spam-Datenbanken im Internet abgeglichen. Eine Deaktivierung empfehlen wir nur dann, wenn bei Ihnen regelmässig Mails bestimmter Absender blockiert werden, die Sie eigentlich erhalten wollten (passiert z.B. teilweise bei hotmail.com oder yahoo.com Adressen, da diese oft in Anti-Spam-Datenbanken aufgenommen werden).

 
top

Whitelist (bestimmte Absender immer annehmen)

Falls teilweise Emails Ihrer Bekannten oder bestimmte Newsletter fälschlicherweise als Spam erkannt werden sollten, können Sie die Absenderadressen dieser Emails auf Ihre Whitelist aufnehmen. Adressen die in einer Whitelist aufgenommen wurden, werden automatisch als "gut" erkannt, d.h. die Mails dieser Absender landen nie wieder im Spamordner.

Sie können einzelne Adressen oder alle Adressen einer bestimmten Domain für die Whitelist freischalten. Um einzelne Adressen freizuschalten tragen Sie diese einfach in der Form "absender@domain.endung" in die Liste ein. Um ganze Domains freizuschalten tragen Sie dies in der Form "*@domain.endung" in die Liste ein.

Um Eintragungen auf der Whitelist vorzunehmen gehen Sie folgendermassen vor:

Im Control Panel

 
Spamfilter 7

Öffnen Sie die Einstellungen des Postfachs, welches Sie bearbeiten möchten, wie es unter "Spameinstellungen im Control Panel" beschrieben wird.

Unter "Neue Adresse hinzufügen" geben Sie dann die Absenderadresse der Person an, von der Sie generell immer alle Mails erhalten möchten. Setzen Sie anschliessen das Häkchen bei "Annehmen" und klicken Sie auf "Hinzufügen":

Im Beispiel wurde nun die Adresse "hanna@ihredomain.ch" zur Whitelist hinzugefügt. Das grüne Symbol zu Beginn der Zeile besagt, dass die Adresse teil der Whitelist ist. Ein rotes Symbol hingegen besagt, dass die Adresse auf Ihrer Blacklist steht.

 

Im Webmail

 
Spamfilter 8

Öffnen Sie die Spameinstellungen, wie weiter oben bei "Spameinstellungen im Webmail" beschrieben.

Klicken Sie danach auf die Schaltfläche "Positivliste".

Hier können Sie nun alle Absender eintragen, die auf Ihre Whitelist aufgenommen werden sollen. Sie können sowohl für eingehende Mails wie auch für ausgehende Mails Eintragungen in der Whitelist machen. Im Normalfall genügt die Eintragung bei den eingehenden Mails aber vollkommen also in der Liste "Positivgelistete Absender". Die einzelnen Einträge müssen durch einen normalen Zeilenumbruch getrennt werden.

 
top

Blacklist (bestimmte Absender immer ablehnen)

Falls Sie von einem bestimmten Absender oder einer bestimmten Domain immer wieder Spam oder sonstige unerwünschte Mails erhalten, können Sie den betreffenden Absender in Ihre Blacklist aufnehmen. Mails von dieser Quelle werden dann immer sofort als Spam erkannt und in den Spamordner verschoben, auch wenn die Mail die Spamüberprüfung ansonsten bestanden hätte.

Um Eintragungen auf der Blacklist vorzunehmen gehen Sie folgendermassen vor:

Im Control Panel

 
Spamfilter 9

Öffnen Sie die Einstellungen des Postfachs, welches Sie bearbeiten möchten, wie es unter "Spameinstellungen im Control Panel" beschrieben wird.

Unter "Neue Adresse hinzufügen" geben Sie dann die Absenderadresse der Person an, von der Sie keine Mails mehr erhalten möchten. Achten Sie darauf, dass unter "Annehmen" kein Häkchen gesetzt ist und klicken Sie auf "Hinzufügen":

In diesem Beispiel wurden 2 Einträge auf die Blacklist aufgenommen, bei der Domain spamserver.com wurden gar alle Email-Adressen gesperrt, welche mit der besagten Domain enden. Die roten Symbole zu Beginn der Zeile besagen, dass sich der Eintrag in der Blacklist befindet, ein grünes Zeichen erscheint bei einer Eintragung in die Whitelist.

 

Im Webmail

 
Spamfilter 10

Öffnen Sie die Spameinstellungen, wie weiter oben bei "Spameinstellungen im Webmail" beschrieben.

Klicken Sie danach auf die Schaltfläche "Ausschlussliste".

Hier können Sie nun alle Absender eintragen, die auf Ihre Blacklist aufgenommen werden sollen. Sie können sowohl für eingehende Mails wie auch für ausgehende Mails Eintragungen in der Blacklist machen. Im Normalfall genügt die Eintragung bei den eingehenden Mails aber vollkommen (also in der Liste "Ausgeschlossene Absender"). Die einzelnen Einträge müssen durch einen normalen Zeilenumbruch getrennt werden.

 
top

Fortgeschrittene Einstellungen

Für erfahrene Benutzer gibt es auch die Möglichkeit, eigene Regeln für Spamassassin zu definieren. Für einen Laien ist die Syntax der Spamassassin-Regeln kaum zu verstehen, daher empfehlen wir Ihnen nur dann eigene Einstellungen vorzunehmen, wenn Sie sich wirklich damit auskennen.

Um eigene Regln zu definieren gehen Sie bitte folgendermassen vor:

Die Vorgangsweise hierzu wird unter dem Punkt " Spameinstellungen im Control Panel" erklärt.

 

1. Melden Sie sich in Ihrem Control Panel an und öffnen Sie Ihre Spameinstellungen.

Die Vorgangsweise hierzu wird unter dem Punkt " Spameinstellungen im Control Panel" erklärt.
 
 
Spamfilter 11

2. Klicken Sie im Bereich "Neue Adresse hinzufügen" auf "Für fortgeschrittene Benutzer":



 
 
Spamfilter 12

3. Im darauf erscheinenden Fenster sehen Sie alle bisher getätigten Spamregeln und können unter Verwendung der selben Syntax noch eigene Regeln hinzufügen:

Bitte beachten Sie, dass beim Einfügen einer fehlerhaften Filterregel teilweise sogar der ganze Spamfilter ausser Kraft gesetzt werden kann.

Eine detaillierte Anleitung zur Syntax von Spamassassin finden Sie hier.
 
top


Für weitere Fragen stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung:

Administrative Fragen:
E-Mail: order@hoststar.ch

Technische Fragen:
E-Mail: support@hoststar.ch
 
Copyright © 2012 hoststar. All rights reserved.   Disclaimer | Privacy Policy| Sitemap
Hosting & Webspace Internet Service Provider.